█

AI/TLDR

Buy me a coffee
Buy me a coffee

Model comparison

GLM-4-9B vs GPT-4o

Short answer

GPT-4o scores higher on 4 of the 4 benchmarks both models report; GLM-4-9B ships open weights while GPT-4o is API-only.

Specs and pricing side by side

SpecGLM-4-9BGPT-4o
MakerZ.ai (Zhipu / GLM)OpenAI
Released2024-06-052024-05-13
Context window128K128Ksame
Max outputNot publicly disclosed16K
Input priceFree$5.00
Output priceFree$15.00
Parameters9BNot disclosed
LicenseGLM-4 License (custom open weights)Proprietary
WeightsOpen weightsAPI only
ModalitiesTextText, Image, Audio, Vision
Knowledge cutoffNot publicly disclosedOctober 2023

Benchmarks both models report

BenchmarkGLM-4-9BGPT-4o
MMLU72.4%87.2%
MATH50.6%76.6%
HumanEval71.8%91%
GPQA34.3%49.9%

Scores are as published by each maker or its cited source; harness, reasoning effort and date can differ between rows, so treat small gaps as ties. Sources are listed on each model page.

Which one should you pick?

Pick GLM-4-9B if…

  • You want to self-host or fine-tune (open weights, GLM-4 License (custom open weights)).
  • Your use case is: local and on-device chat assistants where a small open model is preferred.

Pick GPT-4o if…

  • You care about MMLU, MATH, HumanEval (it scores higher on 4 shared benchmarks).
  • You need Image / Audio / Vision input, which GLM-4-9B lacks.
  • Your use case is: real-time voice assistants and conversational agents (Advanced Voice Mode).

FAQ

Which is better, GLM-4-9B or GPT-4o?

GPT-4o scores higher on 4 of the 4 benchmarks both models report; GLM-4-9B ships open weights while GPT-4o is API-only. The better pick depends on whether you value benchmark scores, price per token, context length or openness for your workload.

What are the context windows of GLM-4-9B and GPT-4o?

GLM-4-9B offers 128K with up to Not publicly disclosed output; GPT-4o offers 128K with up to 16K output.

Is GLM-4-9B newer than GPT-4o?

GLM-4-9B was released 2024-06-05; GPT-4o was released 2024-05-13.

Go deeper