█

AI/TLDR

Buy me a coffee
Buy me a coffee

Model comparison

Mistral NeMo (12B) vs Command R+ (04-2024)

Short answer

Command R+ (04-2024) scores higher on 4 of the 4 benchmarks both models report; Mistral NeMo (12B) is cheaper on input tokens ($0.2 vs $3 per 1M, 20×).

Specs and pricing side by side

SpecMistral NeMo (12B)Command R+ (04-2024)
MakerMistral AICohere
Released2024-07-182024-04-04
Context window128K128Ksame
Max outputNot specified by Mistral AI4K tokens
Input price$0.15 / 1M tokens$3.00
Output price$0.15 / 1M tokens$15.00
Parameters12B104B (dense)
LicenseApache 2.0Proprietary (API); open weights under CC-BY-NC on Hugging Face
WeightsOpen weightsOpen weightssame
ModalitiesTextTextsame
Knowledge cutoffNot disclosed by Mistral AIFebruary 2023

Benchmarks both models report

BenchmarkMistral NeMo (12B)Command R+ (04-2024)
MMLU68%75.7%
HellaSwag83.5%88.6%
Winogrande76.8%85.4%
TruthfulQA50.3%56.3%

Scores are as published by each maker or its cited source; harness, reasoning effort and date can differ between rows, so treat small gaps as ties. Sources are listed on each model page.

Which one should you pick?

Pick Mistral NeMo (12B) if…

  • Cost matters: input tokens cost 20× less ($0.2 vs $3 per 1M).
  • Your use case is: self-hosted chat and assistant applications on a single GPU.

Pick Command R+ (04-2024) if…

  • You care about MMLU, HellaSwag, Winogrande (it scores higher on 4 shared benchmarks).
  • Your use case is: enterprise retrieval-augmented generation with citations.

FAQ

Which is better, Mistral NeMo (12B) or Command R+ (04-2024)?

Command R+ (04-2024) scores higher on 4 of the 4 benchmarks both models report; Mistral NeMo (12B) is cheaper on input tokens ($0.2 vs $3 per 1M, 20×). The better pick depends on whether you value benchmark scores, price per token, context length or openness for your workload.

How much cheaper is Mistral NeMo (12B)?

Mistral NeMo (12B): $0.15 / 1M tokens input, $0.15 / 1M tokens output. Command R+ (04-2024): $3.00 input, $15.00 output (list API prices as published by each maker).

What are the context windows of Mistral NeMo (12B) and Command R+ (04-2024)?

Mistral NeMo (12B) offers 128K with up to Not specified by Mistral AI output; Command R+ (04-2024) offers 128K with up to 4K tokens output.

Is Mistral NeMo (12B) newer than Command R+ (04-2024)?

Mistral NeMo (12B) was released 2024-07-18; Command R+ (04-2024) was released 2024-04-04.

Go deeper