# Qwen3.7-Max

> Alibaba's flagship agent model with a 1M-token context and 35-hour autonomy

- Maker: Alibaba (Qwen)
- Line: Qwen-Max
- Canonical page: https://ai-tldr.dev/models/qwen3-7-max/
- Updated: 2026-08-04

## In short

Qwen3.7-Max is Alibaba's flagship agent model with a 1M-token context and 35-hour autonomy. Alibaba (Qwen) released it on May 2026 as an API-only model. It has a 1M-token context window and costs $2.50 per million input tokens and $7.50 per million output tokens. You can use it through Alibaba Cloud Model Studio, OpenRouter and Together AI.

## Facts

| Fact | Value | Source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Context window | 1M (max output 65,536 tokens) | [1] |
| Input price | $2.50 / 1M tokens (cached $0.25 / 1M tokens) | [2] |
| Output price | $7.50 / 1M tokens | [2] |
| Licence | Proprietary (closed weights); API-only via Alibaba Cloud Model Studio · API only | [1] |
| Released | May 2026 | [3] |
| Parameters | Not disclosed | [1] |
| Knowledge cutoff | Not disclosed | [1] |

## Sources

1. [OpenRouter — Qwen3.7 Max API & specs](https://openrouter.ai/qwen/qwen3.7-max)
2. [Alibaba Cloud Model Studio — pricing](https://www.alibabacloud.com/help/en/model-studio/model-pricing)
3. [Qwen3.7: The Agent Frontier (official blog)](https://qwen.ai/blog?id=qwen3.7)

## Overview

Qwen3.7-Max is the May 2026 flagship of Alibaba's Qwen-Max line, announced by the Qwen team around the 2026 Alibaba Cloud Summit (May 19-21, 2026) and made available the same week through Alibaba Cloud Model Studio; it was superseded within the line by Qwen3.8-Max on August 3, 2026. It is a proprietary, closed-weight model positioned explicitly for the "agent era": Alibaba described it as its most capable agent foundation at launch, equally suited to writing and debugging code, automating office workflows, and sustaining long-horizon tasks that span hundreds or thousands of steps.

Technically, Qwen3.7-Max ships with a 1M-token context window (double the 256K of the earlier Qwen3.6 Max Preview) and a maximum output of 65,536 tokens. It is a text-only model — there is no image, audio, or video input — and uses native extended-thinking (chain-of-thought) reasoning. Its headline demonstration is a 35-hour, fully autonomous kernel-optimization run comprising over 1,000 tool calls, which Alibaba cites as evidence that the model holds coherent state across extremely long agentic horizons. It supports OpenAI- and Anthropic-compatible APIs and can be driven by external harnesses such as Claude Code.

On the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.0 it scored 56.6 at launch — ranked #5 overall and the highest-placed Chinese model at the time — a 4.8-point gain over Qwen3.6 Max Preview. It posts strong coding-agent results (80.4 on SWE-Bench Verified, 69.7 on Terminal-Bench 2.0, 76.4 on MCP-Atlas) and 92.4 on GPQA Diamond. Pricing is $2.50 / $7.50 per million input/output tokens (with $0.25 cached input), and Alibaba ran a 50% launch promotion at $1.25 / $3.75. The model is also cross-listed on OpenRouter and Together AI.

## Benchmarks

- Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.0: 56.6index ([source](https://artificialanalysis.ai/models/qwen3-7-max))
- SWE-Bench Verified: 80.4% ([source](https://www.datacamp.com/blog/qwen3-7-max))
- SWE-Bench Pro: 60.6% ([source](https://www.datacamp.com/blog/qwen3-7-max))
- Terminal-Bench 2.0 (Terminus): 69.7% ([source](https://www.datacamp.com/blog/qwen3-7-max))
- MCP-Atlas: 76.4% ([source](https://www.datacamp.com/blog/qwen3-7-max))
- GPQA Diamond: 92.4% ([source](https://www.datacamp.com/blog/qwen3-7-max))
- Humanity's Last Exam: 41.4% ([source](https://www.datacamp.com/blog/qwen3-7-max))

## Pricing

- Input: $2.50 / 1M tokens per 1M tokens
- Cached input: $0.25 / 1M tokens per 1M tokens
- Output: $7.50 / 1M tokens per 1M tokens

List price. Alibaba ran a 50% launch promotion at $1.25 input / $3.75 output per 1M tokens, also reflected on OpenRouter and Together AI.

Source: https://www.alibabacloud.com/help/en/model-studio/model-pricing

## Strengths

- Very long context: 1M-token window for whole-repo and long-document agent tasks
- Long-horizon autonomy: cited 35-hour autonomous run with 1,000+ tool calls without losing state
- Strong coding-agent benchmarks (SWE-Bench Verified 80.4, Terminal-Bench 2.0 69.7, MCP-Atlas 76.4)
- Top-tier reasoning: 92.4 on GPQA Diamond; #5 / highest Chinese model on the AA Intelligence Index at launch
- Aggressive pricing for a frontier model, with a 90% cached-input discount that suits repeated agent context
- OpenAI- and Anthropic-compatible APIs; works with external harnesses like Claude Code

## Best for

- Autonomous coding agents: multi-file refactors, debugging, and long-running build/test loops
- Long-horizon agentic workflows that chain hundreds-to-thousands of tool calls
- Whole-repository and large-document analysis enabled by the 1M-token context
- Office and productivity automation (spreadsheets, multi-step task pipelines)
- Scientific and technical reasoning, including STEM-heavy QA and math
- Cost-sensitive production deployments via cached-input pricing on Alibaba Cloud, OpenRouter, or Together AI

## How to access

- [Alibaba Cloud Model Studio](https://www.alibabacloud.com/help/en/model-studio/models) — model id `qwen3.7-max`
- [OpenRouter](https://openrouter.ai/qwen/qwen3.7-max) — model id `qwen/qwen3.7-max`
- [Together AI](https://www.together.ai/models/qwen37-max) — model id `Qwen/Qwen3.7-Max`

## Qwen-Max versions

- [Qwen3.8-Max](https://ai-tldr.dev/models/qwen3-8-max/) (3 August 2026)
- [Qwen3.8-Max-Preview](https://ai-tldr.dev/models/qwen3-8-max-preview/) (19 July 2026)
- Qwen3.7-Max (May 2026) — this page
- [Qwen3-Max](https://ai-tldr.dev/models/qwen3-max/) (September 2025)
- [Qwen2.5-Max](https://ai-tldr.dev/models/qwen2-5-max/) (29 January 2025)

## FAQ

### Is Qwen3.7-Max open source or open weights?

No. Qwen3.7-Max is a proprietary, closed-weight model. As of its May 2026 launch there were no Qwen3.7-Max weights on Hugging Face; it is available only through APIs such as Alibaba Cloud Model Studio, OpenRouter, and Together AI.

### What is Qwen3.7-Max's context window and maximum output?

It has a 1M-token context window — double the 256K of the earlier Qwen3.6 Max Preview — and a maximum output of 65,536 tokens per request.

### Does Qwen3.7-Max support images, audio, or video?

No. Qwen3.7-Max is text-only for both input and output. There is no native vision, audio, or video support in this model.

### How much does Qwen3.7-Max cost?

List pricing is $2.50 per million input tokens and $7.50 per million output tokens, with cached input at $0.25 per million. At launch Alibaba offered a 50% promotion at $1.25 input / $3.75 output per million tokens, also reflected on OpenRouter and Together AI.

## Links

- [Qwen3.7: The Agent Frontier (official blog)](https://qwen.ai/blog?id=qwen3.7)
- [Alibaba Cloud Model Studio — models](https://www.alibabacloud.com/help/en/model-studio/models)
- [Alibaba Cloud Model Studio — pricing](https://www.alibabacloud.com/help/en/model-studio/model-pricing)
- [OpenRouter — Qwen3.7 Max API & specs](https://openrouter.ai/qwen/qwen3.7-max)
- [Together AI — Qwen3.7-Max](https://www.together.ai/models/qwen37-max)
- [Artificial Analysis — Qwen3.7 Max intelligence & price](https://artificialanalysis.ai/models/qwen3-7-max)
- [DataCamp — Qwen3.7-Max: features, benchmarks, agent capabilities](https://www.datacamp.com/blog/qwen3-7-max)
- [MarkTechPost — Qwen introduces Qwen3.7-Max (1M-token agent model)](https://www.marktechpost.com/2026/05/21/qwen-introduces-qwen3-7-max-a-reasoning-agent-model-with-a-1m-token-context-window/)
- [TechNode — Alibaba introduces Qwen3.7-Max as next-gen agent model](https://technode.com/2026/05/21/alibaba-introduces-qwen3-7-max-as-next-gen-ai-agent-model/)

Source: AI/TLDR LLM registry, https://ai-tldr.dev/models/qwen3-7-max/
