█

AI/TLDR

Buy me a coffee
Buy me a coffee

Model comparison

MiniMax M2.7 vs MiniMax M2.5 / M2.5-Lightning

Short answer

MiniMax M2.7 scores higher on 1 of the 1 benchmarks both models report; MiniMax M2.5 / M2.5-Lightning is cheaper on input tokens ($0.2 vs $0.3 per 1M, 2×).

Specs and pricing side by side

SpecMiniMax M2.7MiniMax M2.5 / M2.5-Lightning
MakerMiniMaxMiniMaxsame
Released2026-03-182026-02-12
Context window205K205Ksame
Max output131K~131K tokens
Input price$0.30 / 1M tokens$0.15 / 1M tokens (M2.5); $0.30 / 1M tokens (M2.5-Lightning)
Output price$1.20 / 1M tokens$1.20 / 1M tokens (M2.5); $2.40 / 1M tokens (M2.5-Lightning)
Parameters230B total / 10B active (MoE)229B total / 10B active (MoE)
LicenseMiniMax Non-Commercial License (open weights; commercial use needs separate authorization)Modified MIT (attribution required for commercial use)
WeightsOpen weightsOpen weightssame
ModalitiesTextTextsame
Knowledge cutoffNot publicly disclosedNot disclosed

Benchmarks both models report

BenchmarkMiniMax M2.7MiniMax M2.5 / M2.5-Lightning
Multi-SWE-Bench52.7%51.3%

Scores are as published by each maker or its cited source; harness, reasoning effort and date can differ between rows, so treat small gaps as ties. Sources are listed on each model page.

Which one should you pick?

Pick MiniMax M2.7 if…

  • You care about Multi-SWE-Bench (it scores higher on 1 shared benchmark).
  • Your use case is: autonomous software-engineering agents: debugging, refactoring, and multi-file code changes.

Pick MiniMax M2.5 / M2.5-Lightning if…

  • Cost matters: input tokens cost 2× less ($0.2 vs $0.3 per 1M).
  • Your use case is: autonomous and semi-autonomous coding agents running across large codebases.

FAQ

Which is better, MiniMax M2.7 or MiniMax M2.5 / M2.5-Lightning?

MiniMax M2.7 scores higher on 1 of the 1 benchmarks both models report; MiniMax M2.5 / M2.5-Lightning is cheaper on input tokens ($0.2 vs $0.3 per 1M, 2×). The better pick depends on whether you value benchmark scores, price per token, context length or openness for your workload.

How much cheaper is MiniMax M2.5 / M2.5-Lightning?

MiniMax M2.7: $0.30 / 1M tokens input, $1.20 / 1M tokens output. MiniMax M2.5 / M2.5-Lightning: $0.15 / 1M tokens (M2.5); $0.30 / 1M tokens (M2.5-Lightning) input, $1.20 / 1M tokens (M2.5); $2.40 / 1M tokens (M2.5-Lightning) output (list API prices as published by each maker).

What are the context windows of MiniMax M2.7 and MiniMax M2.5 / M2.5-Lightning?

MiniMax M2.7 offers 205K with up to 131K output; MiniMax M2.5 / M2.5-Lightning offers 205K with up to ~131K tokens output.

Is MiniMax M2.7 newer than MiniMax M2.5 / M2.5-Lightning?

MiniMax M2.7 was released 2026-03-18; MiniMax M2.5 / M2.5-Lightning was released 2026-02-12.

Go deeper