Model comparison
Gemini 2.5 Pro vs Gemini 2.0 Pro
- Input
- $1.25 / 1M tokens (prompts ≤200K); $2.50 / 1M tokens (prompts >200K)
- Output
- $10.00 / 1M tokens (prompts ≤200K); $15.00 / 1M tokens (prompts >200K)
- Context
- 1M
- Released
- 2025-03-25
- Input
- $0.00 (free during experimental preview)
- Output
- $0.00 (free during experimental preview)
- Context
- 2M
- Released
- 2025-02-05
Gemini 2.5 Pro scores higher on 3 of the 3 benchmarks both models report; Gemini 2.0 Pro is cheaper on input tokens ($0 vs $1.3 per 1M, ); Gemini 2.0 Pro has the larger context window (2M vs 1M).
Specs and pricing side by side
| Spec | Gemini 2.5 Pro | Gemini 2.0 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Maker | Googlesame | |
| Released | 2025-03-25 | 2025-02-05 |
| Context window | 1M | 2M |
| Max output | 64K | 8,192 tokens |
| Input price | $1.25 / 1M tokens (prompts ≤200K); $2.50 / 1M tokens (prompts >200K) | $0.00 (free during experimental preview) |
| Output price | $10.00 / 1M tokens (prompts ≤200K); $15.00 / 1M tokens (prompts >200K) | $0.00 (free during experimental preview) |
| Parameters | Not disclosed | Not disclosedsame |
| License | Proprietary | Proprietarysame |
| Weights | API only | API onlysame |
| Modalities | Text, Vision, Audio, Video, PDF | Text, Vision |
| Knowledge cutoff | January 2025 | August 2024 |
Benchmarks both models report
| Benchmark | Gemini 2.5 Pro | Gemini 2.0 Pro |
|---|---|---|
| GPQA Diamond | 84% | 64.7% |
| AIME 2025 | 86.7% | 27.5% |
| MMMU | 81.7% | 72.7% |
Scores are as published by each maker or its cited source; harness, reasoning effort and date can differ between rows, so treat small gaps as ties. Sources are listed on each model page.
Which one should you pick?
Pick Gemini 2.5 Pro if…
- You care about GPQA Diamond, AIME 2025, MMMU (it scores higher on 3 shared benchmarks).
- You need Audio / Video / PDF input, which Gemini 2.0 Pro lacks.
- Your use case is: complex multi-step reasoning in math, science, and analysis.
Pick Gemini 2.0 Pro if…
- Cost matters: input tokens cost less ($0 vs $1.3 per 1M).
- You need the longer context (2M vs 1M).
- Your use case is: coding assistance and complex multi-step prompts (its primary positioning).
FAQ
Which is better, Gemini 2.5 Pro or Gemini 2.0 Pro?
Gemini 2.5 Pro scores higher on 3 of the 3 benchmarks both models report; Gemini 2.0 Pro is cheaper on input tokens ($0 vs $1.3 per 1M, ); Gemini 2.0 Pro has the larger context window (2M vs 1M). The better pick depends on whether you value benchmark scores, price per token, context length or openness for your workload.
How much cheaper is Gemini 2.0 Pro?
Gemini 2.5 Pro: $1.25 / 1M tokens (prompts ≤200K); $2.50 / 1M tokens (prompts >200K) input, $10.00 / 1M tokens (prompts ≤200K); $15.00 / 1M tokens (prompts >200K) output. Gemini 2.0 Pro: $0.00 (free during experimental preview) input, $0.00 (free during experimental preview) output (list API prices as published by each maker).
What are the context windows of Gemini 2.5 Pro and Gemini 2.0 Pro?
Gemini 2.5 Pro offers 1M with up to 64K output; Gemini 2.0 Pro offers 2M with up to 8,192 tokens output.
Is Gemini 2.5 Pro newer than Gemini 2.0 Pro?
Gemini 2.5 Pro was released 2025-03-25; Gemini 2.0 Pro was released 2025-02-05.
Go deeper
- Gemini 2.5 Pro: full specs, pricing and benchmarks
- Gemini 2.0 Pro: full specs, pricing and benchmarks
- gemini 3 pro vs gemini 2 5 pro
- gemini 2 0 pro vs gemini 1 5 pro
- gpt oss 20b vs gemini 2 5 pro
- llama 4 scout vs gemini 2 0 pro
- gpt oss 120b vs gemini 2 5 pro
- gpt 5 pro vs gemini 2 0 pro
- All model comparisons
